close

Football

Saban defends Mack Wilson's high hit, still doesn't know what targeting is


Alabama head coach Nick Saban is not one to ever shy away from letting his players know when they make a mistake. However, he will also defend his players when he knows they've done no wrong in his eyes.

In last weekend's Alabama-Texas A&M game, the Crimson Tide's Mack Wilson leveled Speedy Noil in the first quarter on a kick return. The play had the Twittersphere calling for targeting and Wilson to be ejected. No call was made on the field, nor was a review called for.

“It was a great hit,” Saban told Michael Casagrande of AL.com. “I know some people made something about the fact that it was targeting. But it was not an unprotected player. The guy is running with the ball.”

Under the NCAA's targeting rule, a player is only deemed defenseless when he has not had the time to protect himself, or hasn't yet become a ball-carrier.

However, there is a second part to the targeting rule, separate from the first.

Where Rule 9-1-4 details hits to the head or neck area of a defenseless opponent with either the helmet, forearm, fist, elbow, or shoulder, Rule 9-1-3 states: "No player shall target and initiate contact against an opponent with the crown (top) of his helmet. When in question, it is a foul."

Wilson may have been clean on Rule 9-1-4, but he is in direct violation of Rule 9-1-3 as the crown of his helmet directly hits Noil in the head.

“We always tell our players that we want you to lower your target and see what you hit,” Saban said, “even when you tackle so we don’t get into those situations but that wasn’t a foul because it wasn’t an unprotected player.”

Noil may have been "protected," but Wilson should have been ejected and the Crimson Tide flagged for a 15-yard penalty for leading with the crown of his helmet.

Still, it may have only prolonged the inevitable: an Alabama easy victory.

Copyright © 2016 Score Media Ventures Inc. All rights reserved. Certain content reproduced under license.



Source link

read more

Report: Bills' McCoy likely to be listed questionable vs. Patriots


Buffalo Bills running back LeSean McCoy aggravated his hamstring injury Sunday and is likely to be limited in practice this week, ESPN's Adam Schefter reports.

Schefter adds that McCoy is likely to be listed as questionable for Buffalo's Week 8 game against the New England Patriots, just as he was against the Miami Dolphins.

It's probably not what Bills fans want to hear, nor McCoy's fantasy owners. The veteran tailback tried to play through the injury against the Dolphins but produced a mere 11 yards rushing on eight carries before leaving the game.

The will be calls for Buffalo to sit McCoy for at least Week 8 – and perhaps beyond – in order for his hamstring to fully heal. On the other hand, the Bills may feel they can't afford to with a crucial game against the Patriots on tap.

Copyright © 2016 Score Media Ventures Inc. All rights reserved. Certain content reproduced under license.



Source link

read more
1 199 200 201 202 203 205
Page 201 of 205