15 Current NCAA Players Named to U.S. Olympic Team : College Hockey News

January 13, 2022

Bookmark and Share

CHN Staff Report

Minnesota, which recently lost top goaltender Jack Lafontaine to the NHL, will be missing three more key players in February. The Gophers had the most players selected among all NCAA teams to be part of this year’s U.S. Olympic team.

The Winter Olympics take place in China in February. The NCAA players will have to miss between two and four weeks, depending on how well Team USA does and if there are any quarantine complications getting in and out of China.

Minnesota’s three players are forwards Matthew Knies and Ben Myers, and defenseman Brock Faber.

St. Cloud State, Harvard, Boston College and Michigan will be without two players each. For Michigan, that includes Matty Beniers and Brendan Brisson, the team’s top two goal scorers. Michigan will also be without top defenseman Owen Power, who is playing for Team Canada. Two other former Michigan players are on the U.S. roster — recent goaltender Straus Mann, and defenseman Steve Kampfer, who was on the Wolverines from 2006-10 and played 231 NHL games.

St. Cloud State, which will also be without head coach Brett Larson, had defenseman Nick Perbix and forward Sam Hentges named to the team. Larson joins Minnesota State’s Mike Hastings as assistant coaches for Team USA. The head coach is former BU’s head coach David Quinn.

For Boston College, Drew Helleson and Mark McLaughlin were named. Harvard forwards Nick Abruzzese and Sean Farrell were named as well.

The remaining NCAA players are goalie Drew Commesso (Boston University), defenseman Jake Sanderson (North Dakota), forward Noah Cates (Minnesota-Duluth) and forward Nathan Smith (Minnesota State).

Most of the other former NCAA players on the team are playing in Europe, including former Hobey Baker Award winner Andy Miele (Miami), David Warsofsky (a member of BU’s 2009 national championship team), Yale’s Kenny Agostino and Brian O’Neill (who were bright spots on the 2018 Olympic team), Brian Cooper (Nebraska-Omaha) and Nick Shore (Denver).

Former Minnesota defenseman Aaron Ness and former Ferris State goalie Pat Nagle, who are both currently on AHL rosters, round out the U.S. team.

Source link

Get in Touch


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related Articles

Get in Touch


Latest Posts