Durrelliott - News Source For Teenagers

The CFDA just announced its 2019 Awards nominees on Instagram, and there are some new names in the mix. Womenswear perennial Marc Jacobs is on the list, as is menswear favorite Thom Browne, and Off-White’s Virgil Abloh made the cut not once, but twice, but all five of the emerging designer nominees are first-timers. That’s a positive development for American fashion, which has seen its mid-career designers drop off the fashion calendar. Not one of this year’s menswear nominees put on a show in New York this season, by the way. Maybe that should be a Spring 2020 prerequisite for this year’s winner?

This year’s honorees, so far at least, are all women and include Vogue’s Lynn Yaeger, who will receive the Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Sheppard. Additional honorees will be announced in the coming weeks. Here is the full list of nominees and honorees for the 2019 CFDA Awards; the winners will be announced at the June 3rd ceremony at the Brooklyn Museum.

Womenswear Designer of the YearBrandon Maxwell
Marc Jacobs
Kate Mulleavy and Laura Mulleavy, Rodarte
Rosie Assoulin
Sander Lak, Sies Marjan

Menswear Designer of the YearMike Amiri, Amiri
Virgil Abloh, Off-White
Kerby Jean-Raymond, Pyer Moss
Rick Owens
Thom Browne, Thom Browne New York

Accessory Designer of the Year
Jennifer Fisher, Jennifer Fisher Jewelry
Virgil Abloh, Off-White
Tabitha Simmons
Telfar Clemens, Telfar
Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen, The Row

Emerging Designer of the YearEmily Adams Bode, Bode
Beth Bugdaycay, Foundrae
Catherine Holstein, Khaite
Heron Preston
Sarah Staudinger and George Augusto, Staud

Valentino Garavani and Giancarlo Giammeti International Award: Sarah Burton, Alexander McQueen

Founder’s Award in Honor of Eleanor Lambert: Carine Roitfeld

Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Sheppard: Lynn Yaeger

Positive Change Award: Eileen Fisher

Source link

Tags : 2019AwardsCFDAFashionHonoreesNominees

The author DE TEAM

Leave a Response

Durrelliott - News Source For Teenagers